Rising Stars Awards Asia-Pacific 2022: winners announced

The 2022 Asia-Pacific Rising Stars Awards announced rising stars recognized across a wide range of practice area specialties across the region, including internal emerging leaders.

As travel restrictions in the region continue to be in place and our list of multinational winners spans multiple continents, we are unable to host our all-inclusive Gala Dinner and Ceremony this year. We are pleased to present to you the list of emerging leaders to watch this year.

So join us in celebrating the achievements of the rising stars for 2022. We hope to see you all in person as soon as possible. Until then, stay safe and keep up the amazing work.

If you have any questions about the scholarships, please contact our Principal Investigator John Harrison.

We are keen to carry out any promotions that companies would like to undertake based on their success and ask that you contact Nick Heath with any questions.

Without further ado, the winners are…


Elian Wong – SMBC Aviation


Stella Guettinger – Vincinity Centers


Shraddha Sharma – Ziiki Media Private Limited

food and drinks

Mudit Ra – Dabour

Industrialists and manufacturers

Amit Maheshwari – ArcelorMittal

Dhrubajyoti Basu – Aditya Birla Group

Investment and fund management

Swati Baghel–Blackstone

Pharmaceuticals and life sciences

Wonhee Hong – LG Chem


Prateeti Gaur – Valency International


Benita Lee – Google

Gurjyot Sethi – Cannon


Sahiba Chait – Marriott International

Antitrust and Competition

Aman Sethi – Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

To Seon Choi – Kim & Chang

Marcus Pollard – Linklaters

Petra Carey – Russel McVeagh

Zoe Lonard – Norton Rose Fulbright


Christopher Healy – Bird and Bird

Hui Yain – Clyde & Co

Jennifer Ince – Reed Smith

Mai Tazuka – Clifford Chance

Rachel Tomasen – Clifford Chance

Bank and finance

Jeffrey Tanner – Stephenson Harwood

Nina Carlina – Osborne Clarke

Tracey Forbes – Dying

Utkarsh Bandhu – Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Yuki Taguchi – Nishimura & Asahi

Commercial Arbitration

Anu Sura – PSL Lawyers & Solicitors

Cameron Sim – Debevoise & Plimpton

Katie Chung – Norton Rose Fulbright

Michael Weatherley – Ashurst

Saemee Kim – Lee & Ko


Brigette Shone – Russell McVeagh

Hyewon Shin – Bae Kim & Lee

Hyung Ji Kim – Kim and Chang

Theresa Luk – Deacons

Yashwant Grover – Intl Advocare

Corporate governance

Bianca Marcocci – Herbert Smith Freehills

Rachna Jain – Desai & Diwanji

Rowena De Sousa – IC Universal Legal

Debt Capital Markets

Jaclyn Yeap – Allen & Overy

Leon Yap – Hogan Lovells

Ling Yan Pang – Russel McVeagh

Sarah DeSourdy Hastings – Russell McVeagh

Energy, natural resources and mining

Jackson Allen – Allen & Overy

Michael Webb – Ashurst

Rosaline Yusman-Milbank


To Hwan Jun – Kim & Chang

Equity markets

Kullarat Phongsathaporn – Baker McKenzie

Michael Maraietta-Cooley

Young Jin Ha – Bae Kim & Lee

Zhuo Wang – Zhong Lun Law Firm

Financial regulations

Nina Carlina Sugianto – Reed Smith

Insurance & Reinsurance

Audrey Wong – Whitefern

Carren Thung – DAC Beachcroft

International exchange

Alistair Bridges – Moulis Legal

Investment Funds

Benoit Tan – Simmons & Simmons

Ivy Yam – Simmons & Simmons

Josie Ainley – Maple Group

Pooja Anantha – Ashurst

Reina Chua – Sidley Austin

Work and employment

Anna Chan – Oldham Li & Nie

Justine Giuliani – Seyfarth Shaw

Karen Mitra – Ashurst

Nurul Ayu Fajarani – Herbert Smith Freehills

Victor Ng – Oldham Li & Nie

Life sciences

Aaron Hayward – Herbert Smith Freehills

Emma Iles – Herbert Smith Freehills

Eun Hee Kim – Kim & Chang

Shi (Pauline) Tang – Strings & Gray


Brigette Shone – Russell McVeagh

Chi Ho Kwan – Latham & Watkins

Guozhen Yu – Co-Winning Partners

Heeyong Daniel Jang – Kim & Chang

Yuet Min Foo – Drew & Napier

Mergers and Acquisitions

Aseem Sahni – HAS Defenders

Jolie Giouw – Bird & Brid ATMD

Maureen Ho – Morrison & Foerster

Parveet Singh Gandoak – King & Spalding

Sang Taek Park – Kim & Chang


Josie Ainley – Maple Group

Lily Miao – Dying


Dae Hyun Seo – Kim & Chang

Jian Zhang – Han Kun Law Firms

Piyush Sharma – LexOrbis

Shikha Sing – LexOrbis

Yoko Kasai – Nishimura & Asahi

Privacy and data protection

Isabelle Guyot-Allens

Gil Zhang – Fangda Partners

Kieran Donovan – Latham & Watkins

Richard Berkahn – Clyde & Co

Ruby Kwok – Norton Rose Fulbright

Private equity (including venture capital)

Kenny Yu – Weil Gotshal & Eats

Oliver Nip – Strings & Grays

Raymond Wong – Kirkland and Ellis

William Fong – White and case

Product liability

Sheena McKie – Clayton Utz

Project funding

Kim Hock Ang – Wong & Leow

Shang Song – Tian Yuan Law Firm

Stephen Blair – Ashurst

Teza Jose – Juris Corp

Theresia Azalia – UMBRA – Strategic Legal Solutions


Kerrie Duong – Baker McKenzie

Sang Min Lee – Kim & Chang

Sharon Tam – Mayer Brown

Tessa Baker – Chapman Tripp

Yin Lu Tan – Shearn Delamore & Co

Restructuring and insolvency

Jo Tay – Allen & Gledhill

Phoebe Lo – Clifford Chance

Stephanie Yeo – WongPartnership

Veronica Chan – Lawyers Tanner De Witt

Zoey Zhang – Kirkland & Ellis

Shipping & Sea

Janine Liang – Norton White

Jumpei Osada – TMI Partners

Lorraine Mok–Ince

Naraya Lamart – HFW

Valerie Lee – Watson Farley & Williams

Structured Finance & Securitization

Hideaki Suda – Nagashim Ohno & Tsunematsu

Sion Yoong Tian – WongPartnership

James Yao – Allen & Overy

Matthew Ball – Clifford Chance

Seong-Eun Cho – Shin & Kim


Heamin Kim – Bae Kim & Lee

Krystal Ng – Baker McKenzie

Ruchita Shah – Practice of Economic Laws

Stefano Mariani – Deacons

Toa Vulangi – Bell Gully

Settlement of tax disputes

Andy Bubb – Clayton Utz

Anna Chan – Oldham Li & Nie

Kinjal Bhuta – Kinja Bhuta and Co.

Rebecca Clarke – Minter Ellison

Shabnam Sheikh – Khaitan & Co


Amy Chung – Deacons

Connell O’Neill – Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

David Rountree-Allens

Elaina Foo – Bird and Bird

Frankie Tam – Eversheds Sutherland


Alyson Poole – Norton Rose Fulbright

Anna Toh – Amica Law

Janice Yip – ELLALAN

Maria Sun – Ashurst

Michelle Yee – Kim & Chang

Transfer price

Aldi Winedhar – TaxPrime

Andy Bubb – Clayton Utz

Fachur Rifqi Nugroho – KPMG

Koji Oshima – Baker McKenzie

Steve Minhoo Kim – Lee & Ko

Wealth management

Grace Gao-Ogier

Shabnam Sheikh – Khaitan & Co

Stefano Mariani – Deacons

Yong Sheng Hon – Tourniquet KhattarWong

Victor Ng – Oldham Li & Nie

White Collar Crime

Christine Cuthbert – Baker McKenzie

Hiroshi Yagi – Nishimura & Asahi

Jocasta Giles – King & Wood Mallesons

Shu Min Ho – McDermott Will & Emery

Vivian Wu – FenXun Partners


Michael Webb – Ashurst

Zoé Lonard – Norton Rose Fulbirght


Gouzhen Yu – Co-winning partners

Vivian Wu – FenXun Partners

Hong Kong SAR

Josie Ainley – Maple Group

Stefano Mariani – Deacons


Aman Sethi – Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Yashwant Grover – Intl Advocare


Aldi Winedhar – TaxPrime


Mai Tazuka – Clifford Chance

Yuki Taguchi – Nishimura & Asahi


Jane Guan – Christopher & Lee Ong

New Zealand

Brigette Shone – Russell McVeagh

Toa Vulangi – Bell Gully


Jo Tay – Allen & Gledhill

Michael Weatherley – Ashurst

South Korea

To Seon Choi – Kim & Chang

Saemee Kim – Lee & Ko

Comments are closed.